Read These Books If You Obsessed Over Crazy Rich Asians

Amazon

Your next favorite novel is on this list!

Books Like Crazy Rich Asians

Crazy Rich Asians was a huge success and the highest-grossing romantic comedy in a decade. The wonderful movie was inspired by Kevin Kwan's novel of the same name.

Readers fell in love with Rachel, Nick, and every other incredible character in the book, which is why we found books like Crazy Rich Asians for fans to enjoy while we wait for the next movie in the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy to come out.

Of course, no book will be exactly like Kwan's Crazy Rich Asians, but we did our best to find incredible and quirky tales that had a big focus on family. Each of the books are by and about Asian and Asian American characters because Asian and Asian American voices are a very underrepresented voice in literature.

Enjoy these books similar to Crazy Rich Asians and let us know on Twitter any books you would add to the list!

1. Crazy Rich Asians Trilogy by Kevin Kwan

Amazon

If you're reading this article, you've probably already read the first novel in Kevin Kwan's Crazy Rich Asians trilogy. If not, stop what you're doing and read that first! But if you have read it, we have to recommend the other two books in the trilogy before anything else. After all, they're as close as you'll ever get to reliving the fun drama and shenanigans of Crazy Rich Asians!

Get China Rich Girlfriend and Rich People Problems here.

2. The Wangs vs. the World by Jade Chang

Amazon

People that loved Crazy Rich Asians will love Jade Chang's The Wangs vs the World, a riches-to-rags tale about an immigrant. In the book, patriarch Charles was able to make a fortune by building a cosmetics empire. However, the financial crisis took everything. Now Charles must pick up two of his children from their fancy schools he can no longer pay for.

Along with stepmother Barbra who is has grown accustomed to a certain lifestyle, the Wangs make a cross-country journey in their only car that wasn't repossessed, traveling from Bel-Air to Upstate New York where Saina, Charles' eldest child lives.

Buy *The Wangs vs. the World here.

3. Ayesha At Last by Uzma Jalaluddin

Amazon

Uzma Jalaluddin's Ayesha at Last has been dubbed "a modern-day Muslim Pride and Prejudice for a new generation of love," a very fitting statement. The books is about the titular Ayesha Shamsi, a woman who wants nothing more than to be a poet. For now, she works as a teacher to pay the debt she owes an uncle. Living at home with her "boisterous" family is always an adventure, especially considering Ayesha is constantly reminded her younger cousin, Hafsa, has rejected nearly one-hundred proposals.

Ayesha isn't interested in an arranged marriage. She meets Khalid, a smart and handsome man who also happens to be judgmental and rather conservative. Too bad Ayesha is begrudgingly attracted to him. Then she discovers Hafsa and Khalid are engaged. Of course, things get even more complicated from there.

Find Ayesha At Last here.

4. The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters by Balli Kaur Jaswal

Amazon

The three British Punjabi sisters in Balli Kaur Jaswal's The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters have never been close. School principal Rajni likes order, struggling actress Jezmeen is terrified her big break will never come, and "good" sister Shirina has the picture-perfect life. However, on her deathbed, their mother asks that the sisters go to the Golden Temple in Amritsar in India to carry out her final rites.

Each sister agrees to make the trip for her own reasons. Rajni took a trip to India with their mother a long time ago and vowed to never go back, but she can't refuse her mother. Jezmeen's public firing from her television job is just the break she needs to pick herself back up. And Shirina's in-laws have been pressuring her to make a decision and she needs the time to figure out if she should "meekly obey" or "bravely stand up for herself for the first time." Along the way, the sisters discover things about themselves and their mother, including why Rajni made the trip to India with their Mother and why their Mother was never allowed to return.

Buy The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters here.

5. The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

Amazon

Despite only having two books under her belt, Helen Hoang's talent for storytelling is undeniable. The Kiss Quotient follows Stella Lane, a rare female character in fiction with Asperger's. She believes in math above all else and even found a job that allows her to use it by creating algorithms that helps predict the way customers buy things. While it's made her a decent profit, it's also perhaps kept her a bit behind "in the dating department [for] the average thirty-year-old."

To help catch up, Stella decides to hire someone to teach her. She even has a lesson plan. That's where Michael Phan comes in, a Vietnamese and Swedish escort. It doesn't take long for Stella to enjoy their time together. Even if other people don't understand it, "their no-nonsense partnership starts making a strange kind of sense."

Find The Kiss Quotient here. Also check out Hoang's new novel, The Bride Test.

6. A Windfall by Diksha Basu

Amazon

The Jhas in The Windfall are in the opposite situation as the Wangs in The Wangs vs. the World. The Jha family has lived in a too-small space for thirty years, surrounded by gossipy neighbors. However, after a few wise investments on Mr. Jha's part, the family finds themselves with more money than they've ever had before.

They move from an East Delhi housing complex to a rich area on the other side of the city. Though his wife is reluctant to the changes in their life, it will force the entire family to "reckon with who they are and what really matters to them" now that they have money.

Get A Windfall here.

7. Natalie Tan's Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim

Amazon

In Roselle Lim's Natalie Tran's Book of Luck and Fortune, Natalie left seven years ago after her mother refused to support her decision to become a chef. During that time, they never spoke. Now Natalie's mother has passed away and Natalie must return home. She discovers the once thriving San Francisco Chinatown filled with failing businesses and learns she's inherited her grandmother's restaurant.

After reading the tea leaves, the neighborhood declares Natalie must make three of her grandmother's recipes for her new neighbors in order for the restaurant to succeed. The problem is Natalie has a lot of built up resentment for the neighbors after they left Natalie to care for her agoraphobic mother when Natalie was just a child. However, with the help of a new friend and a romance, Natalie discovers her neighbors may have helped more than she ever knew. The novel also includes delicious recipes to try!

Buy Natalie Tan's Book of Luck and Fortune here.

Let's Keep the Conversation Going...

Will you read one of these books similar to Crazy Rich Asians?

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!