Fill the Hole in Your Heart With 6 Books Like Game of Thrones

HBO

Here are 8 incredible fantasy books and series to love!

Books Similar To Game of Thrones

Now that Game of Thrones has ended and left a considerable hole inside all of our hearts, we need something to fill the void in our empty hearts. Luckily, there are plenty of fantasy novels out there like Game of Thrones!

Whether you came to this article by way of the A Song of Ice and Fire book series or Game of Thrones, you're sure to find a new book or two to enjoy! Once you read a few of the books on this list, you'll discover plenty of books like Game of Thrones, along with other great fantasy books to enjoy.

Who knows? You may end loving these books even more than Game of Thrones. They're all incredible so it's very possible!

1. An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir

Amazon

If you're interested in finding your next favorite fantasy series, I don't care how old you are, Young Adult is the best place to look. It is filled with amazing series by diverse voices with new ones coming out all the time. Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes series is a prime example of a great Young Adult fantasy series by a diverse author. Drawing inspiration from ancient Rome, the Martial Empire keeps all of its citizens under its control through slavery or by forcing them to become soldier. This is the story of Laia and her allies as they find a way to save their loved ones and fight back.

An Ember in the Ashes

A Torch Against the Night

A Reaper at the Gates

2. Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

Amazon

While it's the only book on this list not belonging to a series, Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor more than deserves its spot. Nnedi Okorafor may be best known for Akata Witch and Binti, but there is just something so compelling about Who Fears Death. Racism definitely comes to play in Game of Thrones when it comes to nearly all of the black and brown characters being seen as savages (the Dothraki), slaves (the Unsullied) with their white savior queen, and outsiders (the people of Dorn).

However, in Who Fears Death, it is much more front and center and yet nuanced. The colorism used to justify the subjugation of the Okeke found real world inspiration from the slave trade of Africans in the United States, easily justifying because one group, the people with darker skin, were deemed as less than. I recommend this book to everyone whether they're a fan of fantasy or not.

Buy Who Fears Death here.

3. Book of the Ancestor series by Mark Lawrence

Amazon

"I was born for killing – the gods made me to ruin."

Fans of Arya Stark will be interested in Mark Lawrence's Book of the Ancestor series. In the series, young girls are brought to the Convent of Sweet Mercy and raised to be killers. A select few children have the old bloods, which gifts them "rare talents that can be honed to deadly or mystic effect." Accused of murder yet guilty of much worse, Nona Grey gets rescued from the noose and taken to the Convent. No one is quite prepared for Nona.

Red Sister, Book 1

Grey Sister, Book 2

Holy Sister, Book 3

4. Bone Witch series by Rin Chupeco

Amazon

Rin Chupeco is known for crafting incredible Young Adult fantasy series. The Bone Witch series isn't necessarily a series that's like Game of Thrones, but I truly believe it's one Game of Thrones fans will enjoy because it has everything a fantasy fan will love and then some! After she mistakenly resurrects her brother, Tea discovers she's a bone witch, something that makes her feared. She and her brother seek out a more experienced bone witch to help train Tea so she learns to control her new powers even while the world around her is changing, leaving Tea with a gut-wrenching choice.

The Bone Witch, Book 1

The Heart Forger, Book 2

The Shadowglass, Book 3

5. Legacy of Orïsha by Tomi Adeyemi

Amazon

The Legacy of Orïsha series by Tomi Adeyemi is, to put it simply, amazing. This isn't entirely relevant, but the two covers in their very different and distinct styles are just so beautiful to look at. While Nono from the Book of the Ancestor series gives my Arya vibes, Zélie from Legacy of Orïsha gives me Sansa vibes. Zélie had her entire world ripped from under her and has had to learn to survive in a world so different from what she once knew. That is, until she gets the chance to fight back.

Children of Blood and Bone, Book 1

Children of Virtue and Vengeance, Book 2, will be out December 3, 2019

6. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King

Amazon

Stephen King's expansive, eight book Dark Tower series is a mash up of magic and the American Old West. Similar to A Song of Ice and Fire and Game of Thrones, the Dark Tower series draws inspiration from the real world and re-imagines it in a fantastical new setting in which nations are at war with each other and lands are vanishing. The series follows Roland, a mysterious man searching for the Dark Tower, the very nexus of all universes.

The Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three

The Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands

The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass

The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla

The Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah

The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower

The Wind Through the Keyhole: The Dark Tower IV-1/2

Let's Keep the Conversation Going...

What series will you read to fill the Game of Thrones-shaped hole in your heart?

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!