15 of the Best New Fall Books by Women

via Amazon

Thank you ladies!

We Can't Stop Obsessing Over These 15 Fall Books Written by Women

The fall season is hands down the best time to get wrapped up in a good book. This fall brings a plethora of new books for all kinds of readers and even better is the fact that so many of these amazing books have been written by women. Read up on 15 of the best books of fall—all written by women—and get ready for a season full of reading.

1. Twine by Monica Duncan

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Art school graduate Juniper Kowalski’s world is turned upside down when she finds out she’s pregnant with the baby of a married man. With no one to turn to, she moves back to Michigan, to live in her late grandmother’s trailer. Frustrated with her future, she begins to create public art pieces that feed her soul and remind her of who she is. Throughout the novel, Juniper comes face-to-face with the men from her past, a new shot at love and what it means to be a good mother. This new novel from Monica Duncan is the perfect fall read for book clubs and women who are looking for a relatable story.

2. Dominicana by Angie Cruz

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Ana Cancion is only 15 when she’s proposed to by Juan Ruiz. While she’s not thrilled by the offer, it could mean a future for her family in the United States, forcing her to say yes to the marriage. But leaving her home in the Dominican Republic to move to New York City isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Lonely and bored, Ana comes up with a plan to run away… and then she meets Juan’s brother, Cesar. With Juan returning home to take care of his family, it’ll be up to Cesar to take care of Ana and together, the two begin to explore all there is to do in their new home. By the time Juan returns, Ana will have to fight to keep the new life and freedom she has found in Juan’s absence.

3. Joy Seeker: Let Go of What's Holding You Back So You Can Live the Life You Were Made For by Shannon Kaiser

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Inspirational speaker and life coach Shannon Kaiser is no stranger to the harmful patterns and routines we get ourselves into—feeling the need to constantly do more and be better can leave you feeling anxious and hopeless. In her new book Joy Seeker, Kaiser teaches readers how to focus on the things that matter most, regain hope and how to dig down deep and truly discover the person you’re supposed to be. This book also gives readers the chance to participate in journaling and other exercises that will help you break out of the routines that are holding you back from being your best self.

4. Red to the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

National Book Award Jacqueline Woodson returns this fall with a new novel about what it means to find your identity and live up to the expectations of others. Melody is turning 16 with her coming of age celebration on the horizon, she and her grandparents can’t ignore the fact that just 16 years earlier, they were set to supposed to be throwing a similar party for Melody’s mother. As the big day arrives, Melody and her grandparents are forced to think back on their rocky past and consider what’s next for each of them—forcing Melody to consider the weight of expectations and have shaped her life for better and for worse.

5. As Long As It's Perfect by Lisa Tognola

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Janie’s relationship with her now-husband Wim began with whirlwind romance in Portugal—now they’re parents, and Janie is finding herself unfulfilled with her role as a full-time mother. Her itch for a change teamed with the pressure to compare house upgrades with her friends propels her to take up a new part-time role as her family’s own “assistant contractor.” Just when she and Wim decide on plans for an upgrade, a wrench is thrown into their plan when the economy crashes. From con artist kitchen designers to troublesome construction workers and everything in between, this new novel is about following your passions and what really matters when it seems all is lost—the perfect read for anyone who loves binging shows on HGTV.

6. The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

The author of The Handmaid’s Tale returns this fall with one of the most highly anticipated novels of the year. This new chapter in the bestselling saga takes place 15 years after the end of the first book, introducing readers to three women living in both Gilead and Canada. With viewpoints from both societies, The Testaments brings readers a deeper view into what it means to live in a new age filled with fear, doubt and uncertainty. Margaret Atwood’s latest #1 New York Times bestselling novel is the perfect book for fans of the first book or the Hulu adaptation of the classic tale.

7. That's Mental: Painfully Funny Things That Drive Me Crazy About Being Mentally Ill by Amanda Rosenberg

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Comedy writer Amanda Rosenberg is painfully aware of what it means to live with mental illness. In her new book, That’s Mental, she exposes her life struggles with bipolar II, the misconceptions around mental illness and the reality of what’s it like to be different from those around you. This essay collection covers everything from the difficulties in reaching out for help to the struggle of dealing with people who think they know the cure for your problems and more. Brutally honest and hilarious, That’s Mental is an informative read that will have you both laughing and crying.

8. The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Soon to be a major motion picture, the author of bestseller Me Before You returns this fall with a new historical fiction novel. When Alice Wright married Bennett Van Cleve, all she wanted was to get away from her suffocating life in England and start over. But living in a small town in Kentucky, it’s not long before she begins to feel that stifling feeling once again. Luckily for Alice, everything changes when she takes a job with Eleanor Roosevelt’s traveling library, delivering books to people who have never had the luxury before. She and the other women involved become known as the Horseback Librarians of Kentucky and while they all support one another, their lives are forever changed when they come up against dangers in their job and their lives.

9. When You Ask Me Where I'm Going by Jasmin Kaur

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

A great new fall read for fans of Rupi Kaur, When You Ask Me Where I’m Going is a touching poetry collection about identity and important elements of our current culture. Divided into six sections, this collection discusses what it’s like to be a woman whose voice is often unheard and sometimes even silenced. With commentary on feminism, immigration, mental health and more, Jasmin Kaur’s debut book is a deep dive into what it really means to be a woman during a time of uncertainty and inequality.

10. Obviously: Stories from My Timeline by Akilah Hughes

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Akilah’s life is anything but ordinary and in her debut book, she tells her story with humor and grace. After growing up in a small town in Kentucky, Akilah went on to win her school’s spelling bee and graduate high school at only 15 years old. From there, she moved to New York City where she found her passion for writing and performing. This new memoir documents her life through a series of essays, covering everything from the acne and weight issues she faced as a young girl, how to make it in New York and everything in between. This coming-of-age memoir is perfect for fans of Tiffany Haddish and Mindy Kaling.

11. Suspended Sentence: A Memoir by Janice Morgan

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Janice Morgan’s world was turned upside down when she learned her son had been arrested on charges that included stolen firearms and drugs. Instead of being sent to prison for his crimes, Dylan is given a second chance, being sentenced to a drug court where he has the opportunity to get clean and restart his life. But nothing is easy for Janice as she stands by his side throughout his turbulent days in the program. Doing her best to keep him clean and in the program, she begins to realize the difficulties behind his drug problem and his bipolar diagnosis. This true story tells the tale of one brave mother and her courageous mission to save him from his inner demons.

12. No Judgments by Meg Cabot

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

When a hurricane moves into Little Bridge Island, it cuts off all power and cell service to the small town. Having just left her abusive ex, Bree Beckham knows she can weather any storm, not concerning herself with the outage her town is experiencing… until she learns that pets all around the city are suffering due to the storm. On a mission to save as many dogs and cats as possible, she’s forced to enlist the help of infamous heartbreaker Drew Hartwell. Together, the two continue on to save the town’s pet population and by the time the power comes back, Bree will have to consider the fact that she developed feelings for Drew somewhere along the way.

13. The Nobodies by Liza Palmer

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Journalist Joan Dixon has just hit rock bottom and in order to get back on her feet, she takes a job as a junior copywriter at a Los Angeles startup, Bloom. Now inundated in a new world with new friends, an unexpected love interest and a steady paycheck, Joan feels like she’s ready to take on the world once again. As happy as she is with her new life, she can’t help but wonder about the company she works for and soon, through her journalism tactics, she has discovered that Bloom isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. In The Nobodies Joan must decide if the story about Bloom is worth losing the new life she has built.

14. Know My Name: A Memoir by Chanel Miller

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

When the news first broke about Brock Turner’s sentencing, his victim’s impact statement went viral, anonymously naming the woman Emily Doe. With the positive reaction her case and statement made, Emily Doe decided to unmask herself, revealing her real name and the full story in her new memoir Know My Name. While Brock was held accountable for his actions, it didn’t change the fact that the victim, Chanel Miller, had to face feelings of loneliness and oppression both during the trial and afterwards. In this memoir, Miller talks about the reality of being sexually assaulted and brings to light new ways to think about the heinous crimes that are forced upon women every day.

15. Life of Loan by Ashley Farley

via Amazon

Get it here on Amazon.

Lena Browder and Olivia Westcoast have one thing in common: they both need a new start. When coincidence brings the two college friends together at an airport 30 years after graduation, they decide to do something radical. Switching homes and lives for a month, the two come to find new paths for their lives including new chances at love, opportunities to change their careers and most importantly, they both find hope that their happy endings are still within reach. If you loved Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet in The Holiday, you’ll want to pick up Life on Loan this fall.

Let's Keep the Conversation Going...

What book will you be reading this fall? We want to know!

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!