13 Novels Even Hermione Granger Would Read And You Should Too

Hermione Granger, fierce, hermione, harry potter, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Warner Bros. Pictures

Hermione approved novels await!

giphy.com

13 Novels Even Hermione Granger Would Read, And You Should Too

If you're a Potter head you know that Hermione Granger is one of the best characters in the Harry Potter series. She is smart, affable, and incredibly wise for a young girl. She's the best student in her class and comes prepare even when she doesn't have to. So what do you think she'd want to read if she was living in our world circa now? She'd detest the Gossip Girl series, she might be intrigued by The Goldfinch, but be too scared to dive into Gone Girl. She's a lady we root for, a friend we want to have, and often times a hero we want to be. So here are 13 novels, even our girl Hermione Granger would read (and therefore, so should you!). Even muggles can enjoy!

amazon.com

1. Harriet The Spy

Buy it here

A young girl spies on her neighbors, baby-sitter, and friends? Sign us up! Hermione would be proud of little Harriet who learns that compromising your friends is the last thing she wants to do in life. And we agree.

amazon.com

2. A Wrinkle In Time Series

Buy it here

If you haven't read the magical ride that is 'A Wrinkle In Time' stop what you're doing and order the book NOW! You'll be transported to a different universe. Protagonist, Meg is on the search for her father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government. Hermione would devour this in between studying for her transfiguration final.

amazon.com

3. Number The Stars

Buy it here

When German troops begin to "relocate" Jews in Denmark, Annemarie and her family must hide her best friend, Ellen. The novel details how a nation came together to protect an entire population. From Annemarie's point-of-view, we follow along this harrowing journey. Hermione would root for the girls, and emulate their bravery, friendship, and persistence.

amazon.com

4. 1984

Buy it here

"Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell’s chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, his dystopian vision of a government that will do anything to control the narrative is timelier than ever...". Hermione would enjoy this novel but also plan a rebel at school if she thought Professor Snape was looking over her shoulder.

amazon.com

5. The Book Thief

Buy it here

Hermione might see a lot of herself in Liesel Meminger, a foster girl who steals books that are to be burned by Nazis. She learns to read with help from her foster-father, and the Jewish man they are hiding in her basement. With her passion for books and love of doing the right thing, Hermione would absolutely enjoy this New York Times bestseller.

amazon.com

6. A Diary of A Young Girl

Buy it here

The diary of Anne Frank, who lived in hiding during World War II. From the perspective of the little girl we learn about how her and her family lived in complete isolation for two years. Faced with hunger, boredom, confined spaces, and the threat of Nazi's, this piece of history is important for all young people to read. Anne Frank would resonate with Miss.Granger thanks to her courage, strength, and hopefulness.

amazon.com

7. The Handmaid's Tale

Buy it here

Now this one might upset Hermione, and with good reason. A world where women are meant to breed against their will with men they do not know? That's a big no from H.G. Turned into a spectacular television show starring Elizabeth Moss.

amazon.com

8. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Buy it here

Known as HeLa by scientist, Henrietta Lacks was a poor black tobacco farmer, whose cells--- taken without her knowledge became one of the most vital tools in medicine. Thanks to Lacks her cells were vital in the polio vaccine, cloning, gene mapping, and more. She remains virtually unknown and her family cannot even afford healthcare. This novel forces you to view health, opportunity, race, ethics, and medicine into question. And Hermione might even love the fact that Oprah starred in the HBO version of the same name. With her parents working in the medical field, this would hit close to home for little Hermione.

amazon.com

9. Valley of the Dolls

Buy it here

A story of four women trying to make it to the top of the entertainment industry. Shattering gender norms by avoiding marriage, babies, and becoming a housewife, Jacqueline and her friends fall into the wrong crowd, with the wrong drugs. A cautionary tale of life moving quickly. Hermione would probably roll her eyes at most of this novel but isn't that the charm in it too?

amazon.com

10. To Kill A Mockingbird

Buy it here

An absolute classic novel, everyone, including a fictional Harry Potter character, would love. If you know nothing about it then I request you purchase the novel, find a comfy place to sit, and read it till you're done. You won't put it down.

amazon.com

11. Bossypants

Buy it here

One of the funniest memoirs in a long time, Tina Fey reminds you why you fell in love with her in the first place. Hermione would laugh so hard, Ron would be worried about her mental health. From her humble beginnings to creating and starring in her 30 Rock Bossypants is a must-read.

amazon.com

12. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Buy it here

"Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be". Maybe Hermione would tell Harry and Ron to read it!

amazon.com

13. I'll Give You The Sun

Buy it here

The story of twin siblings who were once inseparable but now barely speak. The early years are from Noah's perspective, the later years, Jude's. A story about how relationships change as we get older, but mysterious circumstances might remind us why we loved them to begin with. This could be a rough draft of Ron's diary but we may never know.

Let's Keep the Conversation Going...

Do you think Hermione would read these books?

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

--