Instagram Updates: The Recent Updates To Instagram's Story Privacy Setting?
Instagram changed their privacy settings, but can someone you follow block you from their Instagram story?
Instagram Privacy Settings:
You may have noticed that Instagram has made some recent updates to their Instagram story privacy settings.
Who can see my Instagram story?
- Who can see my story?
- The visibility of your story depends on your account's privacy setting:
For private accounts: Only your approved followers can see your story in a row at the top of Feed and from your profile
For public accounts: Your followers can see your story in a row at the top of Feed and anyone can see it from your profile Keep in mind that you can also hide your story from people you don't want to see it.
How do I choose people to hide my Instagram story from?
If you don't want someone to see your story, you can hide your story from them and prevent them from seeing anything you post to your story in the future. To hide your story from someone:
Keep in mind that hiding your story from someone is different than blocking them, and doesn't prevent them from seeing your profile and posts.
Your account's privacy setting also affects who can see your story. If your account is set to private, only your approved followers can see your story. If your account is set to public, your followers can see your story from Feed and anyone can see it from your profile.
How do I control who can reply to my Instagram story with a message?
By default, anyone who can see your story can reply to it directly with a message. When you prevent someone from replying, they won't see that option from within your story. To control who's able to reply to your story:
Keep in mind that stories disappear after 24 hours. After that, photos and videos from a person's story will no longer be visible in conversations. Any text that was included with a message will still be visible after the photo or video disappears.
You can also hide your story from people.
What happens when someone mentions me in their Instagram story?
When someone mentions you in their story, your username is visible in their story, and anyone who can see it can tap your username to go to your profile. If your account is set to private, only your approved followers can see your posts.
Stories you're mentioned in don't appear on your profile or in your tagged photos. Keep in mind that photos and videos shared to someone's story disappear after 24 hours.
If someone you follow mentions you in their story, you'll get a direct message from them that includes a preview of their story. If someone you don't follow mentions you, it'll appear in your inbox as a message request.
There isn't a way to remove your username from someone's story or prevent them from mentioning you, but you can report someone's story.
For more useful information on how to manage your Instagram account visit the Instagram Help Center.