These 7 Books Like the Fault in Our Stars Will Have You Crying

20th Century Fox

Books to read when you're looking for a good cry!

Books Like The Fault in Our Stars

Do you enjoy a good cry? Then you're in the right place because this article on books like The Fault in Our Stars has plenty to choose from!

By now, John Green has quite a few books under his belt (six as of June 2019), but The Fault in Our Stars remains his most popular book. That's likely because it does a great job at tugging on the old heartstrings. People love their heartstrings pulled every once in a while!

Not novel is a carbon copy of another but for case of plagiarism, but these seven books like The Fault in Our Stars are all novels that will make you fall in love with the characters, will make you feel for them. Each book deals with very serious real world issues that are difficult enough for adults to face, but unfathomable for teens. Prepare for some compelling reads.

Trigger Warning: This list includes many difficult topics, including but not limited to the death of children, mental illness, self harm, sexual assault and rape, and hospitalization.

1. Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Amazon

Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews, like The Fault in Our Stars, is another novel that features a teenager with cancer. This novel doesn't have the same romantic elements as The Fault in Our Stars, but that doesn't mean it won't leave you unmoved. The book is told from the perspective of Greg Gaines, a kid with one friend who lives on the fringes at high school. Greg's mom asks him to refriend Rachel, a girl who is dying of leukemia.

Rachel decides to stop treatment, Greg and Earl take it upon themselves to utilize their filmmaking hobby and make a movie about her. This becomes a roller coaster of the Worst Film Ever Made and a real "turning point in each of their lives.

Get Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl here.

2. Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert

Amazon

Suzette is on her way back home in Los Angeles in Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert. She's been away at boarding school in New England and now, she doesn't know if she ever wants to go back to school. All her friends and family are in L.A., including Emil, her crush. She also wants to be home to help support Lionel, her step brother who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder.

As she settles back into her life in L.A., Suzette has growing feelings for someone new, someone surprising. The same girl Lionel is in love with. When Lionel experiences the symptoms of his mental illness, it will cause Suzette to confront mistakes she's made in the past if she's to help her brother now.

Get Little & Lion here.

3. Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kat McGovern

Amazon

In Kat McGovern, Rose Levenson is faced with a decision few seventeen-year-olds have to deal with. In just a few months, when she turns eighteen, she'll be able to take a test that will determine if she carries the genetic mutation for Huntington's disease. Huntington's is a degenerative condition and right now, Rose is watching it slowly kill her mom.

With a 50/50 chance of getting it, Rose wants to know so she can properly plan out her life. Then she meets Caleb, a boy in a similar position with the chance of inheriting sickle-cell anemia, which his mom and sisters suffer from. Caleb doesn't have the same fears of his genetics Rose does and believes in taking risks in life. Including in love.

Get Rules for 50/50 Chances here.

4. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Amazon

Ava Dellaira's epistolary novel, Love Letter's to the Dead, is a very different take on the death of young people than a few of the other novels on this list. In the novel, Laurel has already lost her sister. After being given an English assignment to write a letter to a dead person, Laurel chooses to write to Kurt Cobain because May, Laurel's sister, loved him and he died young like May did.

However, after the assignment is finished, Laurel keeps writing to dead people: Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Janis Joplin, Heath Ledger, and more. She tells them about her friends, falling in love, how her family is falling apart. She also tells them "about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her." It isn't until Laurel writes down what happened to her that she begins to accept what happened to May. Laurel begins to accept her sister as who she really was, a "lovely and amazing and deeply flawed" person, and finally starts foraging her own path in life.

Get Love Letters to the Dead here.

5. Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott

Amazon

Of all the books on this list, Rachael Lippincott's Five Feet Apart is the closest to The Fault in Our Stars as far as the spirit of the book. Because of cystic fibrosis, Stella Grant has spent her life in and out of hospitals. Now, she must stay at least six feet away from everyone in her life or risk infection, jeopardizing her chance for a lung transplant. Will Newman just wants to get out of the hospital. He's over all the treatments and drug trials, and when he turns eighteen, he plans to unplug all the machines he's attached to and travel the world.

Stella knows Will is exactly the type of person she needs to stay away from. Their proximity could kick her off the transplant list or kill one of them. Staying alive is staying apart, "but suddenly six feet doesn't feel like safety. It feels like punishment." What if they chance five feet apart?

Get Five Feet Apart

6. Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Amazon

Refinery29 describes Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces as "Girl, Interrupted meets Speak." That's a fitting take on a difficult, yet very worthwhile, novel to read. Seventeen-year-old Charlotte Davis has gone through a lot in her short life, and the way she's found to deal with it is self-harm. The novel opens with Charlie in the hospital preparing to leave after treatment. But, just like in life, there is no magical cure. At home, Charlie still struggles with her demons as she attempts to put her life back together.

Get Girl in Pieces here.

7. My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Amazon

Jodi Picoult's My Sister's Keeper is the story of the Fitzgerald family. Parents Brian and Sarah discover their daughter Kate, at just two years old, has cancer and needs a bone marrow transplant. When they discover their other child, Jesse, isn't a match, the doctor suggests they have a Savior Sibling, a child conceived through in vitro to be a match to the sick child. That's how Anna comes into existence. When she's born, the cord blood is used to try to save Kate's life. Many times, that's all that's needed. However, in Kate's case it isn't enough, and Anna must give bone marrow and blood throughout her sister's life. When Anna is thirteen, Kate needs a kidney due to renal failure. At this point Anna seeks medical emancipation from her parents to take control of her own body for the first time in her life, Kate's life in her hands.

This book is pretty controversial because of the ethics of Savior Siblings, but I still feel it's worth the read. I also recommend watching the movie!

Get My Sister's Keeper here.

Let's Keep the Conversation Going...

Have you read any of these books like The Fault in Our Stars?

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!