5 Books To Enjoy After Watching Star Wars

Unsplash

Space operas you'll absolutely love!

Books To Read If You Love Star Wars

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker debuted on December 20, 2019, bringing with it the end of the third Star Wars trilogy. Though it's sad that a beloved trilogy is over, we have found five science fiction books and series similar to Star Wars to fall in love with!

One of the many great things about the latest Star Wars trilogy was that the cast tended to be more diverse than the past two trilogies. In turn, each of the books and series in this list have people of color and LGBTQ main characters. One of the great things about science fiction is that it has long been at the forefront of diverse storytelling.

The books on this list are the perfect remedy for the heartache of the Star Wars trilogy ending!


We'd like you to know that there are affiliate links in this post. This means we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the following links. Prices are accurate and items are in stock as of time of publication.

1. Bloodline by Claudia Gray

Amazon

Buy it on Amazon here!

There's no denying that General Leia Organa is the best character in Star Wars. So a book entirely about her? Score! Taking place between the original series and the new one, Leia now serves as a senator in a galaxy still filled with chaos. Many are calling for a First Senator, but Leia doesn't trust anyone holding so much power. Including herself, especially when she catches wind of a new threat.

2. Binti series by Nnedi Okorafor

Amazon

Buy it on Amazon here!

If you aren't immediately entranced by the covers of Nnedi Okorafor's Binti series, then trust in the fact that the first novel in the series won both Hugo and Nebula Awards! Binti is of the Himba people and becomes the first to get into the the best university in the galaxy, Oozma. It will mean leaving her family, but it's what she's always wanted to do. Soon, Binti will end up in the middle of an alien war.

3. Empire of Light by Alex Harrow

Amazon

Buy it on Amazon here!

The first novel in the Voyance series is about Empire assassin Damian Nettoyer. As long he remains at the Empire's beck and call, they won't kill him and his crew or lobotomize his lover, Aris. Damian gets assigned to take out Raeyn, who ends up getting the upper hand and then asking for his help or he'll kill them. From there, things get complicated. Fast.

4. The Indranan War series by K.B. Waters

Amazon

Buy it on Amazon here!

As the youngest in the matriarchal Indranan Empire, Hail Bristol was never supposed to become queen. That's why she left home 20 years ago and became a gunrunner. But all the other heirs are gone and now her mother's people have dragged her back home so she can take her official place as Indranan heir. Being home turns out to be more dangerous than running guns ever was.

5. Changing Course by Brey Willows

Amazon

Buy it on Amazon here!

What was supposed to be a routine mission goes horribly wrong in Changing Course. Captain Jessa Arbelle and a few members of her crew manage to get into an escape pod, landing on an unsafe planet. There she meets a scrounger named Kylin Enderson who has creditors after her. While Kylin doesn't need more trouble, she can't help but want to help Jessa. Then things go to hell.

Let's Keep the Conversation Going

What are your favorite books like Star Wars?

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!