What Does "OAR" Stand For At 2018 Olympics?

BEGIN SLIDESHOW
NBC

What Does OAR Stand For Olympics 2018

The Winter Olympic games have kicked off in PyeongChang, South Korea! So far, our eyes have been locked on a pairs figure skating event — specifically the OAR team.

It left us wondering: what is OAR? Who is OAR? What does OAR stand for? Uh… We thought the Russians weren’t allowed into the Olympics because of doping, so what’s up with that?

If you’re distracted by this seemingly new country, so much so that you can’t truly appreciate the intricacies of the delicate, yet extremely athletic, pairs figure skating — don’t fret. We’re going to clear this up for you.

What Does OAR Mean?

OAR stands for “Olympic Athlete from Russia.” These athletes formally known as Russia have popped up at the Olympics, right next to the USA team.

But, why is OAR at the Olympics?

Just last year, the International Olympics Committee ruled that the Russian Olympic Committee wouldn’t be allowed to attend the 2018 games because of their doping scandal.

The scandal that made them lose their shot at gold this year, also cost them their gold medals from the 2014 winter games in Sochi.

Because of this, Russian athletes cannot wear the colors of their country — instead, they wear Olympic logos and the “OAR” name.

Altogether, this is a pretty decent compromise IN MY HUMBLE OPINON. Most Olympic athletes do not compete in multiple Olympics — they are only at their peak performance for so long.

Rather than ban a whole new cycle of athletes from the games, who didn’t even compete in 2014, these athletes will get their chance to medal.

Like, imagine if your older sibling went to Disney World with his senior class and was suspended for chugging 6 margaritas at Epcot before workers could subdue him — does that mean you can’t go to Disney your senior year?

(This didn’t happen to me, I was the younger sibling who chugged several margaritas, my older brother experienced zero backlash from my hilarious and, as my 17-year-old peers called it, awesome actions.)

(…I digress…)

Basically, you’re going to be seeing a lot of OAR uniforms throughout the game — 168 Russian athletes will be competing.

Click through the slideshow to see the full lineup of the 2018 Winter Olympic games!

1 of 4
Giphy

Winter Olympics 2018 Full Schedule

Feb. 8

Curling: NBCSN at 3 a.m. ET/Midnight PT

Ski Jumping: NBCSN at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT

Curling: NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Figure Skating, Freestyle Skiing: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, encore at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing (men’s), Luge (men’s): NBCSN at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT

Curling: NBCSN at 11:35 p.m. ET/8:35 p.m. PT

Feb. 9

Opening Ceremony: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, encore at 11 p.m. ET/ 8 p.m. PT

Cross-Country (women’s): NBCSN at 2 a.m. ET/ 11 p.m. PT

Feb. 10

Short Track (men’s): NBCSN at 5 a.m. ET/ 2 a.m. PT

Hockey (women’s): USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Ski Jumping (men’s): NBCSN at 7:35 a.m. ET/4:35 a.m. PT

Snowboarding (men’s): NBCSN at 9:15 a.m. ET/6:15 a.m. PT

Luge (men’s): NBCSN at 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (women’s), Biathlon (women’s): NBCSN at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT

Short Track , Ski Jumping (men’s,), Snowboarding (men’s), Luge (men’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT

Figure Skating, Alpine Skiing (men’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT, encore at 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. PT

Snowboarding (men’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT

Curling: NBCSN at 9:45 p.m. ET/6:45 p.m. PT

Figure Skating: NBC at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT

Snowboarding (women’s): NBCSN at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT

Curling: NBCSN at 1:30 a.m. ET/10:30 p.m. PT

Feb. 11

Hockey (women’s): NBCSN at 2:40 a.m. ET/11:40 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (men’s), Biathlon (men’s): NBCSN at 5 a.m. Et/2 a.m. PT

Hockey (women’s): USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Cross-Country (men’s): NBCSN at 7:45 a.m. ET/4:45 a.m. PT

Luge (men’s): NBCSN at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (men’s), Biathlon (men’s), Cross-Country (men’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Luge (men’s), Freestyle, Alpine Skiing, Snowboarding, Figure Skating: NBC at 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT, encore at 1 a.m. ET/ 10 a.m. PT

Biathlon (men’s): NBCSN at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT

Snowboarding (women’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Speed Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 11:30 p.m. ET/ 8:30 p.m. PT

Feb. 12

Biathlon (women’s), Luge (women’s): NBCSN at 5:10 a.m. ET/2:10 a.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing (men’s): NBCSN at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT

Ski Jumping (women’s): NBCSN at 11 a.m. ET/ 8 a.m. PT

Biathlon (men’s): NBCSN at 12:15 p.m. ET/9:15 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (women’s): NBCSN at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT

Freestyle (men’s), Ski Jumping (women’s), Luge (women’s), Biathlon (women’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT

Hockey: NBCSN at 5 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. PT and 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT

Snowboarding (women’s), Alpine (men’s), Speed Skating (women’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Curling: NBCSN at 12:05 p.m. ET/9:05 p.m. PT

2 of 4
Giphy

Feb. 13

Cross-Country, Luge (women’s): NBCSN at 5 a.m. ET/ 2 a.m. PT and 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 11:30 a.m. ET/ 8:30 a.m. PT

Short Track (women’s): NBCSN at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 a.m. PT

Curling: NBCSN at 2:30 p.m. ET/ 11:30 a.m. PT and CNBC at 5 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. PT

Speed Skating (men’s), Luge (women’s), Cross-Country: NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Alpine Skiing (women’s), Snowboarding (men’s), Figure Skating: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Figure Skating: NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing (women’s), Short Track: NBC at 12:05 a.m. ET/9:05 p.m. PT

Feb. 14

Nordic Combined (women’s), Skeleton (women’s): NBCSN at 2:30 a.m. ET/11:30 p.m. PT

Speed Skating (women’s): NBCSN at 5 a.m. ET/ 2 a.m. PT

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 6:30 a.m. ET/ 3:30 a.m. PT and USA at 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT

Skeleton (women’s), Luge: NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT

Biathlon (women’s): NBCSN at 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT

Luge (men’s), Nordic Combined (men’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT

Skeleton (men’s), Speed Skating (women’s), Alpine (men’s), Figure Skating: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, encore at 2 a.m. ET/ 11 p.m. PT

Figure Skating: NBCSN at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT

Hockey (women’s): NBCSN at 10:10 p.m. ET/7:10 p.m. PT

Snowboarding (men’s), Skeleton (men’s): NBC at 12:05 p.m. ET/9:05 p.m. PT

Feb. 15

Cross-Country (women’s): NBCSN at 5 a.m. ET/ 2 a.m. PT

Luge, Speed Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/ 6:30 a.m. PT

Biathlon (men’s): NBCSN at noon ET/ 9 a.m. PT

Cross Country (women’s), Speed Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Curling (women’s): CNBC at 5 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. PT

Freestyle (women’s), Skeleton (men’s), Snowboarding (women’s), Figure Skating (men’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Figure Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Curling (men’s): NBCSN at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT

Luge, Biathlon (men’s): NBC at 1 a.m. ET/ 10 p.m. PT

Feb. 16

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN and USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (women’s), Ski Jumping (men’s): NBCSN at 10:45 a.m. ET/ 7:45 a.m. PT

Ski Jumping (men’s), Speed Skating (women’s), Cross-Country (men’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT

Freestyle (women’s), Skeleton (women’s), Alpine (women’s), Figure Skating (men’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Figure Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing (women’s), Figure Skating: NBC at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 p.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 p.m. PT

3 of 4
Giphy

Feb. 17

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN and USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Cross-Country (women’s): NBCSN at 10:30 a.m. ET/ 7:30 a.m. PT

Biathlon (women’s): NBCSN at 11:30 a.m. ET/ 8:30 a.m. PT

Short Track: NBCSN at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 a.m. PT

Skeleton (women’s): NBCSN at 1:30 p.m. ET/ 10:30 a.m. PT

Ski Jumping (men’s): NBCSN at 2:30 p.m. ET/ 11:30 p.m. PT

Biathlon (women’s), Freestyle Skiing (men’s), Cross-Country (women’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Alpine (men’s), Skeleton (women’s), Ski Jumping (men’s), Short Track: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing (men’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 10:10 p.m. ET/ 7:10 p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing (men’s), Freestyle Skiing (men’s): NBC at 11:30 p.m. ET/ 8:30 p.m. PT

Feb. 18

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN and USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Bobsled (men’s): NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/ 6:30 a.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing (men’s): NBCSN at 10:15 a.m. ET/ 7:15 a.m. PT

Speed Skating (women’s): NBCSN at 11:15 a.m. ET/ 8:15 a.m. PT

Biathlon (men’s): NBCSN at noon ET/ 9 a.m. PT

Cross-Country (men’s): NBCSN at 1 p.m. ET/ 10 a.m. PT

Biathlon (men’s), Speed Skating (men’s), Freestyle Skiing (men’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Curling (men’s): CNBC at 4 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. PT

Bobsled (men’s), Speed Skating (women’s), Freestyle (women’s), Figure Skating (women’s): NBC at 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT

Figure Skating: NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Hockey (women’s): NBCSN at 11 p.m. ET/ 8 p.m. PT

Snowboarding (women’s): NBC at 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. PT

Feb. 19

Hockey (women’s): NBCSN at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Ski Jumping (men’s): NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/ 6:30 a.m. PT

Bobsled (men’s), Speed Skating (men’s): NBCSN at 11 a.m. ET/8 p.m. PT

Curling (men’s): NBCSN at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 a.m. PT

Ski Jumping (men’s), Speed Skating: NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Bobsled, Freestyle Skiing (women’s), Figure Skating: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Figure Skating: NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 10:10 p.m. ET/7:10 p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing (men’s): NBC at Midnight ET/ 9 p.m. PT

Feb. 20

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN and USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Nordic Combined: NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/ 6:30 a.m. PT and noon ET/ 9 a.m. PT

Biathlon: NBCSN at 10:30 a.m. ET/ 7:30 a.m. PT

Short Track: NBCSN at 12:45 p.m. ET/ 9:45 p.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 2 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. PT

Nordic Combined, Biathlon: NBC at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT

Snowboarding (men’s), Bobsled (women’s), Alpine (women’s), Figure Skating (women’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT

Figure Skating (women’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 10:45 p.m. ET/ 7:45 p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing, Short Track: NBC at 1 a.m. ET/ 10 p.m. PT

Feb. 21

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN and USA at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Bobsled (women’s): NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/ 6:30 a.m. PT

Cross-Country, Speed Skating: NBCSN at 10:45 a.m. ET/ 7:45 a.m. PT

Curling (men’s): NBCSN at 2 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. PT

Cross-Country (men’s), Speed Skating: NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Freestyle Skiing (men’s), Bobsled (women’s), Alpine Skiing, Cross-Country (women’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Hockey (women’s): NBCSN at 10:45 p.m. ET/ 7:45 p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing (men’s): NBC at 11:30 p.m. ET/ 8:30 p.m. PT

4 of 4
Giphy

Feb. 22

Short Track: NBCSN at 7:45 a.m. ET./ 4:45 a.m. PT

Curling (men’s): NBCSN at 1:45 p.m. ET/ 10:45 a.m. PT and 10 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. PT

Nordic Combined, Biathlon (women’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Short Track, Snowboarding (women’s), Alpine (women’s), Figure Skating (women’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing (women’s), Freestyle Skiing (women’s): NBC at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 p.m. PT

Short Track: NBCSN at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 p.m. PT

Feb. 23

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 7 a.m. ET/ 4 a.m. PT

Curling (men’s): NBCSN at 9:30 a.m. ET/ 6:30 a.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 12:30 p.m. ET/ 9:30 a.m. PT

Biathlon, Figure Skating (women’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Bobsled, Speed Skating, Snowboarding, Alpine: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Biathlon (men’s): NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 9:30 p.m. ET/ 6:30 p.m. PT

Snowboarding: NBC at 11:30 p.m. ET/ 8:30 p.m. PT

Cross-Country (men’s): NBCSN at Midnight ET/ 9 p.m. PT

Feb. 24

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 6:30 a.m. ET/ 3:30 a.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 11 a.m. ET/ 8 a.m. PT

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 2 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. PT

Speed Skating, Cross-Country: NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Curling (men’s): NBCSN at 4 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. PT

Curling (women’s): NBCSN at 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT

Bobsled (men’s), Figure Skating: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT

Hockey (men’s): NBCSN at 10:30 p.m. ET/ 7:30 p.m. PT

Feb. 25

Cross-Country (women’s): NBC at 3 p.m. ET/ noon PT

Closing Ceremony: NBC at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT, encore at 11 p.m. ET/ 8 p.m. PT