The 2017 VMA Winners Are Revealed and Despacito Walks Empty Handed

katy perry, 2017 VMAs

The 2017 VMA winners weren't the real stars of the show.

The 2017 VMAs were chalk full of surprises. First and foremost, it needs to be said that Despacito was the song of the summer. It was. It broke the record for the most streamed song ever. And somehow, the VMAs decided it just wasn't that good.

Secondly, Taylor Swift released the video for her snake anthem "Look What You Made Me Do" #LWYMMD, which was basically just a dark and twisty ode to herself. Word is still out on how Kimye feels about the tune. Watch at your own risk below.

All in all it appears this years 2017 VMAs weren't really about the music at all.

And without further adieu here is a full list of the 2017 VMA winners, and the winning videos.

Video of the Year: Kendrick Lamar - "HUMBLE." (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) -- WINNER

Nominees Bruno Mars - "24K Magic" (Atlantic Records) Alessia Cara - "Scars To Your Beautiful" (Def Jam) DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts" (Epic Records/We The Best) The Weeknd - "Reminder" (XO/Republic Records)

Song of the Summer: Lil Uzi Vert - "XO Tour Llif3" -- WINNER

Nominees Daddy Yankee and Luis Fonsi, Feat. Justin Bieber - "Despacito (Remix)" Ed Sheeran - "Shape of You" Shawn Mendes - "There's Nothing Holding Me Back" Demi Lovato - "Sorry Not Sorry" DJ Khaled Feat. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts" Camila Cabello Feat. Quavo - "OMG" Fifth Harmony Feat. Gucci Mane - "Down"

Artist of the Year: Ed Sheeran (Atlantic Records) - WINNER

Nominees Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records) Kendrick Lamar (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) Ariana Grande (Republic Records) The Weeknd (XO/Republic Records) Lorde (Republic Records)

Best New Artist Khalid (RCA Records) -- WINNER

Nominees Kodak Black (Atlantic Records) SZA (TDE/RCA Records) Young M.A (3D) Julia Michaels (Republic Records) Noah Cyrus (Records)

Best Collaboration: Zayn & Taylor Swift - "I Don't Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)" (Republic Records) -- WINNER

Nominees Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez - "We Don't Talk Anymore" (Atlantic Records) DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller - "Wild Thoughts" (Epic Records/We The Best) D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty - "Broccoli" (Atlantic Records) The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey - "Closer" (Disruptor Records/Columbia Records) Calvin Harris ft. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry & Big Sean - "Feels" (Columbia Records)

Best Pop Song: Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane - "Down" (Syco Music/Epic Records) -- WINNER

Nominees Shawn Mendes - "Treat You Better" (Island Records) Ed Sheeran - "Shape of You" (Asylum/Atlantic Records) Harry Styles - "Sign Of The Times" (Columbia Records) Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley - "Chained To The Rhythm" (Capitol Records) Miley Cyrus - "Malibu" (RCA Records)

Best Hip Hop: Kendrick Lamar - "HUMBLE." (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) -- WINNER

Nominees Big Sean - "Bounce Back" (Def Jam) Chance the Rapper - "Same Drugs" (Chance the Rapper LLC) D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty - "Broccoli" (Atlantic Records) Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert - "Bad & Boujee" (300 Entertainment) DJ Khaled ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne - "I'm The One" (Epic Records/We The Best)

Best Dance: Zedd and Alessia Cara - "Stay" (Interscope) -- WINNER

Nominees Kygo x Selena Gomez - "It Ain't Me" (Ultra/Interscope) Calvin Harris - "My Way" (Columbia Records) Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber and MØ - "Cold Water" (Mad Decent) Afrojack ft. Ty Dolla $ign - "Gone" (Wall Recordings/Latium/RCA Records)

Best Rock: Twenty One Pilots - "Heavydirtysoul" (Fueled by Ramen/Atlantic Records) -- WINNER

Nominees Coldplay - "A Head Full of Dreams" (Parlophone/Atlantic Records) Fall Out Boy - "Young And Menace" (Island) Green Day - "Bang Bang" (Warner Bros. Records) Foo Fighters - "Run" (RCA Records)

Best Fight Against the System Was A Complete Tie

Winners Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson - "Black SpiderMan" (Race & LGBTQ) (Def Jam) -- WINNER The Hamilton Mixtape - "Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)" (Immigration) (Atlantic Records) -- WINNER Big Sean - "Light" (Race) (Def Jam) -- WINNER Alessia Cara - "Scars To Your Beautiful" (Body image) (Def Jam) -- WINNER Taboo ft. Shailene Woodley - "Stand Up / Stand N Rock #NoDAPL" (Environment) -- WINNER John Legend - "Surefire" (Immigration & Anti-Muslim hate) (Columbia Records) -- WINNER

Best Cinematography: Kendrick Lamar - "HUMBLE." (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) (Scott Cunningham) -- WINNER

Nominees Imagine Dragons - "Thunder" (KIDinaKORNER/Interscope) (Matthew Wise) Ed Sheeran - "Castle On The Hill" (Asylum/Atlantic Records) (Steve Annis) DJ Shadow ft. Run The Jewels - "Nobody Speak" (Mass Appeal Records LLC) (David Proctor) Halsey - "Now or Never" (Astralwerks/Capitol) (Kristof Brandl)

Best Direction Kendrick Lamar - "HUMBLE." (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) (Dave Meyers & the little homies) -- WINNER

Nominees Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley - "Chained To The Rhythm" (Capitol Records) (Mathew Cullen) Bruno Mars - "24K Magic" (Atlantic Records)(Cameron Duddy & Bruno Mars) Alessia Cara - "Scars To Your Beautiful" (Def Jam) (Aaron A) The Weeknd - "Reminder" (XO/Republic Records) (Glenn Michael)

Best Choreography Kanye West - "Fade" (Def Jam) (Teyana Taylor, Guapo, Jae Blaze & Derek ‘Bentley' Watkins) -- WINNER

Nominees Ariana Grande ft. Nicki Minaj - "Side To Side" (Republic Records) (Brian & Scott Nicholson) Kendrick Lamar - "HUMBLE." (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) (Dave Meyers) Sia - "The Greatest" (Monkey Puzzle Records/RCA Records) (Ryan Heffington) Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane - "Down" (Syco Music/Epic Records) (Sean Bankhead)

Best Editing: Young Thug - "Wyclef Jean" (300 Entertainment/Atlantic Records) (Ryan Staake & Eric Degliomini) -- WINNER

Nominees Future - "Mask Off" (Epic Records/Freebandz/A1) (Vinnie Hobbs of VHPost) Lorde - "Green Light" (Republic Records) (Nate Gross of Exile Edit) The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey - "Closer" (Disruptor Records/Columbia Records) (Jennifer Kennedy) The Weeknd - "Reminder" (XO/Republic Records) (Red Barbaza)

The official #LWYMMD Video

SHARE this article with your friends