If You Loved 'The Great Alone' Read These 6 Books Next

via Barnes & Noble

These books will touch you deeply.

If You Loved The Great Alone Read These 6 Books Next

The Great Alone is a heartfelt story about family and the human spirit. When faced with the ultimate test of survival, these characters reveal their true colors. If you just couldn't get enough of this daring tale, there's plenty of books that will satisfy your craving.

We've created a list of adventurous novels that are sure to touch your heart instantly. In fact, you'll find it hard to put any of these books down once you start your read. Each of the novels on this list will humble you and make you appreciate life a bit more. Not to mention, you'll probably fall in love with their resilient characters as well.

If The Great Alone left you feeling inspired, these books will have you in awe. Go ahead and see if anything catches your eye. You really can't go wrong here!


Before you continue, we'd like you to know that there are affiliate links in this post. This means we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the following links.

1. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

via Barnes & Noble

Buy it from Barnes & Noble here!

Living on a cotton plantation in George, Cora meets another slave named Caesar who convinces her to join him on the Underground Railroad. Together, they escape through a secret network of actual tracks and tunnels beneath the Southern soil. The author recreates the horrors and brutality of the antebellum era, as one woman's will to survive prevails.

2. Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

via Barnes & Noble

Buy it from Barnes & Noble here!

Bernadette Fox disappears in the midst of a meltdown, leaving her family behind to pick up the pieces. Her daughter, Bee takes it upon herself to weave together emails, invoices, and school memos to uncover Bernadette's hidden past. This inspiring novel embodies the power of a daughter's love for her mother,

3. The Stolen Marriage by Diane Chamberlain

via Barnes & Noble

Buy it from Barnes & Noble here!

The year is 1944, and Tess DeMello ends her engagement to the man she loves in order to marry the father of her child. Together, they move to a small town in North Carolina where she soon realizes she's trapped in a bizarre and loveless marriage. As she's treated like an outsider by her neighbors and puzzled by her husband's mysterious ways, Tess wonders if she'll ever be able to have the life she dreams of before it's too late.

4. Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

via Barnes & Noble

Buy it from Barnes & Noble here!

Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the coast of North Carolina has been haunted by rumors of the "Marsh Girl" for years. When Chase Andrews is found dead in 1969, neighbors suspect Kya Cark, the supposed Marsh Girl to be responsible. However, it turns out Kya is a sensitive and intelligent young woman eager to open herself up to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

5. This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel

via Barnes & Noble

Buy it from Barnes & Noble here!

Rosie and Penn's five-year-old son, Claude wears dresses and dreams of being a princess. Although his parents want him to be whoever he wants to be, they don't know if they're ready to share it with the rest of the world. This heartfelt novel tells the story of how one family attempts to keep a secret, and how they band together when that secret it explodes.

6. As Bright As Heaven by Susan Meissner

via Barnes & Noble

Buy it from Barnes & Noble here!

When the Spanish Flu reaches the shores of America, Pauline Bright's family goes from being hopeful for a better life to being faced with a totally unfamiliar world. As they lose loved ones along the way, they take in an orphaned baby who becomes their light at the end of the tunnel. Through the tragedies and trials, this family discovers what they truly cannot live without, and what they're willing to do about it.

Let's Keep the Conversation Going

Which book like The Great Alone will you be reading? We want to know!

Tweet us @womendotcom or follow us on Facebook and Instagram!