Can Someone See If You Read Their Twitter Message?
Here's how to turn off Twitter DM read receipts.
Can Someone See If You Read Their Direct Message On Twitter?
Gone are the days when you can claim unpleasant letters were lost in the mail! Now, people are always saving receipts, especially on social media. So, can someone tell if you noticed them sliding into your Twitter DMs? The short answer is yes, people can see if you read their message on Twitter — but there is a way to stop that from happening.
How Can You Tell If Someone Read Your Twitter Message?
After you send a direct message, Twitter indicates whether the message has been read with a small check mark alongside the note. To see if your message has been read, open the DM conversation. Underneath the text, you will see the date the message was sent. If there is a check mark next to the date, it means the message was read. If there is no check mark, it either means the message has not been read, or the person you sent the message to has disabled read receipts.
How Do You Disable Read Receipts On Twitter?
We all know the potential dangers of keeping read receipts on, and thankfully Twitter understands that. Disabling read receipts is as simple as an adjustment to your settings. To disable the function, log into your account and go to your Twitter settings. Find the Direct Messages section under the Privacy and Safety tab. From there, you'll see an option to "Send/Receive read receipts." Checking that box will allow others to see when you've read their DMs, while unchecking that box will ensure no read receipts will be sent.
Unfortunately, once you disable your read receipts, not only will no one see when you've read their DMs, but you also won't be able to see who has read your DMs — whether they have their read receipts on or not. It's a definite tradeoff.