Do People Know When You Unfollow or Block Them On Instagram?
Do People Know When You Unfollow or Block Them On Instagram? What Instagram Does and Does Not Tell You About Follows
Do People Know If You Unfollow Them On Instagram?
Today, you would have to travel far and wide to find someone who has not heard of Instagram. You can find the entire world on Instagram, from your pre-school best friend that you lost touch with once you hit puberty, to a guy that you made eye contact with at a bar to your second cousin’s girlfriend account that she set up for her cat. We get obsessed with our following to follow ration, and suddenly, somehow your Aunt Kathy's best friend from high school is your top story viewer. You don't want to hurt anyone's feelings so is it possible to unfollow your cousin Rob, who posts nothing but photos of his dirtbike, without starting World War III at the next family reunion? So, do people know if you unfollow them on Instagram? Can you unfollow people on Instagram without them knowing?
Do People Know If You Unfollow them On Instagram?
Good news for those of you who want to get a head start on spring cleaning your “Following” page. According to Instagram’s help center “people won’t be notified when you unfollow them.” on Instagram. To unfollow someone on Instagram, you need to:
- Go to the profile of the person you wish to unfollow
- Tap the person icon with the check next to it
- Then tap unfollow to confirm
While Instagram won't send your high school French teacher a bon voyage notification once you unfollow her, there are still ways to check if someone has unfollowed you on Instagram.
Can People Check If You’ve Unfollowed Them On Instagram?
There are two ways to check if you have been unfollowed on Instagram, meaning there are two ways for people you unfollow to check if you have unfollowed them. The circle of cyberstalking never ends.
The first way to check if someone has unfollowed you is the manual way aka the self-stalking way. Go to your followers and hit the search bar at the top. Type in the name of the person you want to confirm is still following you. If they appear, then congrats you have their follow. If they don’t, chances have they unfollowed you, or they may have blocked you. On the bright side, you don’t have to worry about unfollowing them.
The second way to check if someone has unfollowed you is to download a secondary app. With this power comes great responsibility though as these apps can tell you not only whose unfollowed you but also unreciprocated follows and the overall follow the growth of your Instagram account. InsTrack will even show you whose blocked you, for a small fee. So while your follow ratio on Instagram may be the least of your concerns, before you unfollow someone on Instagram keep in mind that they may be very aware of who is/is not following them.
Do People Know If You Block Them On Instagram?
The only way to stop seeing certain people’s posts as well as stop them from seeing yours is to block them. To block someone on Instagram:
- Search for their username and go to their profile
- Tap (...)
- Then tap Block
The user will not receive a notification that you have blocked them. You can also go back and unblock the said user if you decide they are worthy of your Instagram time again. But if they have one the apps listed above, then they will be able to check up on your follow status. If you need more information on how following/unfollowing works, you can seek out Instagram's help center for more information. But, sadly, they don't provide advice on how to deal with an angry mom once she finds out you blocked her from seeing your Instagram activity.
So other than those sneaky apps, your unfollow secrets are safe with Instagram. Happy unfollowing!
SHARE this article with someone who needs to clean out their Instagram!