Can People See If You View Their LinkedIn Profile? What You Need To Know About LinkedIn Profile Views and Privacy Settings

canpeopleseewhenyouviewtheirlinkedinprofileheroimage, career, how to, science & tech, culture
www.google.com

Can people see if you view their LinkedIn profile? Learn everything you need to know about LinkedIn profile views- if other users can see them, how LinkedIn profile views work and your options for a more customized browsing experience with LinkedIn's privacy settings.

Can People See If You View Their LinkedIn Profile? What You Need To Know About LinkedIn Profile Views and Privacy Settings

entrepreneur.com

In today’s ever-expanding online sphere, LinkedIn is a great example of how social networks can be used beyond selfies and even leveraged to make meaningful connections that can benefit your career. It’s a great asset to the working woman, but the frequently asked question is, can people see if you view their LinkedIn profile? Will LinkedIn notify a user if you go on their profile? The answer will shock you.

Can People See If You View Their LinkedIn Profile?

tenor.com

Can people see if you view their LinkedIn profile? The short answer is yes if you view a profile on LinkedIn that person will get a notification that you are looking at their profile. Unlike Instagram or Facebook, LinkedIn collects a profile history that consists of a user’s profile views. Profile history means that if you view someone’s profile on LinkedIn, it will register as part of their profile history and vice versa. Mentally trying to estimate the number of times you've clicked on an attractive co-workers profile? Don't worry; there is a way to go anonymous, so your online research habits won't be counted against you. If you’re a newbie to the world of LinkedIn or want a better understanding of profile views, keep reading.

What Happens If I View Someone’s Profile On LinkedIn?

pinterest.com

If you view someone’s profile on LinkedIn it is recorded in their profile history. LinkedIn saves a user’s profile views over a 90 day period which accumulates to a profile history. But, what is a profile history on LinkedIn? Profile history is designed to give you deeper insight into who exactly is looking at your profile. You can access your profile history when you click on the headline Whose Viewed Your Profile. This includes where the viewer works and where they are based, where they found you from and their own job title. When you view someone’s profile on LinkedIn, not only are you receiving their profile information but all of your profile information also gets recorded within their own profile history.

Can I Stop My Profile From Showing Up When I View Someone's Profile in LinkedIn?

pinterest.com

If you are using a basic LinkedIn account and you are not in private mode, you can’t eliminate your information from appearing in others profile history, but you can limit it. You can do this in your privacy settings, which can be accessed through your LinkedIn homepage. To access your privacy settings and limit your profile information,

1.Click the Me Icon at the top of the page

2.Click on the middle banner that reads Privacy

3.In the first section, Profile Privacy, scroll down to Profile Viewing options and click change

4.Under change, Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile, and choose your preferred option.

You can choose if you want your name and headline to appear in a user’s profile history, or just your title and where you work or full on private mode.

Does Private Mode Stop Others From Seeing When I’ve Viewed Their LinkedIn profile?

pinterest.com

Private mode reduces your profile information down to an “Anonymous LinkedIn member.” This means that when you view a user’s profile they still get a notification in their profile history and but your own profile information is not given. If you want to go full on incognito, reference our guide on viewing LinkedIn profiles anonymously.

Can People See If I Have Viewed Their LinkedIn Profile If I Am In Private Mode?

ABC

Technically no. If you are in private mode, a person cannot tell if you went on their LinkedIn profile. It will still register as a profile view from an anonymous LinkedIn user but your personal information will not be recorded. But private mode has its downfalls. Choosing to view profiles in either private profile characteristics or private mode, disables your ability to see who’s viewed your profile and erases your total viewer history. So while you may be anonymous to the profiles that you are viewing, you will no longer be able to receive information about who is viewing your profile. Oprah could be scoping your profile for a job opportunity but you would never know.

Can People see if I Have Viewed Their LinkedIn Profile if I Have a Premium account?

giphy.com

A Premium account also gives you the option to view LinkedIn profiles in private mode. With a Premium account, you also get an added perk of still being able to see your profile history. But if someone views your profile in private mode, it will not show up in​ your profile history.

Why Does LinkedIn Track Whose Profile I’ve Viewed?

forbes.com

If the idea of a fellow Internet user getting a notification every time you view their profile makes you want to throw your laptop out the window, don't. On LinkedIn profile views and profile, history work to your advantage especially if your goal is to expand your network. Profile views allow you to register your​ interest with a potential connection and gives them access to your information. Your profile history may let you find new opportunities and resources to grow your career. LinkedIn is first and foremost a networking opportunity so if someone in your profile history peaks your interest, reaching out is totally acceptable. Stalking Tim from Marketing, a little less so. For more tips and general information on how to best use LinkedIn, visit the LinkedIn help page.​


SHARE this article with your friends who love LinkedIn like you do!

Read these next:

How to View LinkedIn Profile Anonymously

How To Search People On LinkedIn Privately | LinkedIn 2017

Does Someone Know When I Block Their Number?